sky reflection

Some days so long,some days so weary,some days so forgettable,others so memorable,all of my life can be counted and days added up.The people and the places change,the days are similar yet they differ.All I know is my days go on and on,I guess ill hold on for the next new day.I cant get back to days that have gone by,all I can do is look forward.

I’ve gazed upon sunrises and sunsets,seen the changing lights,the world dimmed casted in shadow or basked in a new hue of light.My time of day,the time when i am most at ease,is when my day is done.I am a star-gazer by nature.Are we staring at the stars to make wishes?do we turn to them because they are unreachable,they are constant,unparelled,or do we simply seek shelter beneath them?.Stars need only to exist to cast a watchful eye over the world,to bring balance to an otherwise colourless sky.They illuminate

Some nights I see a reflection of the stars,I stare at a small pool of rain water as I pass by on the street,I see clearly a little piece of the heavens,magnified in the most unlikely of places,i turn my head to the north,startled by the realisation,I’ve not noticed them in what seems like forever,yet there they are,unchanged,every constellation accounted for. As I stare at the reflection of a stilled body of water,the vanishing sunlight and the slow emergence of the stars,i imagine the history of the stars,what they have held silent to,great men and civilisations,comings and going of man,they map the future and the past.what i take from my nights,i add to my days.

I cannot walk through the suburbs in the solitude of the night without thinking that the night pleases us because it suppresses idle details, just as our memory does.we’re part of something incredibly wonderful – more marvelous than we imagine.we ought to go out and look at it once in a while so we don’t lose our place in it.

Night is a candle lit by itself,A trillion asterisks and no explanations.Learn to reverence night,rigorously plan your days, leave your nights open to chance.

“Two things inspire me to awe — the starry heavens above and the moral
universe within”

~ by wingstruck on December 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
